Skip to main content

Sociology: People

Search

People

Research Students

Name Title Research Interests Contact Information
Mario Alvarado Multiculturalism,National Identity,Political philosophy,Social theory,Critical theory,Interculturalism  +44 (0)131 651 1726
malvarad@ed.ac.uk
David Anderson Marginality,Processes of marginalisation,social exclusion,boundary making,social/moral norms and values,Migration,societal structure,urban sociology,Social change,refugees and displacement,social space  +44 (0)7793 453 143
s1264015@sms.ed.ac.uk
Selma Augestad Feminism,Genocide,Humanitarian intervention,Norms,Agency,Post-conflict societies,Women and war,Gender & intersectionality,Social Justice,Transitional justice,Ethnicity & 'race'  s1049649@sms.ed.ac.uk
Katherine Baxter Education and social change,Sociology of Knowledge,Sustainability,Sociology of Sustainability, Environmental Sociology, Sociology of Education, Education for Sustainable Development,Alternative epistemologies,Knowledge production and practices,Nepal and the Himalaya,international development,the sociology of development and aid practices,Childhood and Youth Studies,refugees and displacement  +44 (0)784 509 2651
K.D.Baxter@sms.ed.ac.uk; kbaxter@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Théo Bourgeron Anthropology of Money,Sociology of finance,Welfare reform politics,Corporate finance,Private equity,Impact investing,Dynamics of capitalism  tbourger@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Yuji Shimohira Calvo Political participation,Critical sociology,Social stratification,Quantitative analysis  +44 (0)783 574 7499
y.shimohira@ed.ac.uk
Canglong Wang (王苍龙) Chinese citizenship,Confucianism,National and cultural identity,Classical education in China,Schooling ethnography,Foucault,self-moralisation,Individualisation of Chinese society  +44(0)7933827151
s1460757@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lee Chalmers Feminism,Political representation,Cybermisogyny,Public life,Gender,Gender theory,Trolling,Feminist Theory,Sociology  lee.chalmers@ed.ac.uk
Elisabeth Cuénod Feminism,Youth,Technology and society,Sexuality,Social media and internet technologies,Internet research,Tumblr,Asexuality,LGBT studies,Identity,Boundary work,Gender,Intersectionality,Digital Sociology,Digital Culture  +44 (0)7443 773228
elisabeth.cuenod@ed.ac.uk
Arek Dakessian Cultural Production,Creative Industries,Cities,Beirut,Ethnography,Social Network Analysis,Networks of Cultural Production,Distinction,Taste  +44 (0)7447 509 109
A.A.Dakessian@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Alexandria Davenport Gender and Sexuality,Feminist Theory,Queer Theory,LGBT studies,Media,Transgender,MOGAI  44 (0)7463 486464
s1252173@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Kali Dedominicis media fandom,Qualitative Research Methods,Discourse Theory,internet research methods,community,Documents of Life,Sociology of technology,Technology and society,Discourse, practice and sociological theories and methods,Media and society,new media,Media anthropology,popular culture,digital culture  k.l.dedominicis@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nikki Dunne care chains,gender,Migrant work,transnational families,Transnational caregiving,Globalization,Qualitative Research Methods,Intersectionality,Inequality in the labour market  m.n.dunne@sms.ed.ac.uk
Friedrich Eierdanz Sociology of Sport,Cognitive Anthropology,Grounded Theory,Sociology of Knowledge,economic sociology,organizations and institutions  F.Eierdanz(at)sms.ed.ac.uk
Nichole Fernandez National Identity,Visual Sociology,European Union,Postnationalism,Return / transnational migration,tourism,nation branding,Nation Branding,postmodernity,Digital Cultures,Environmental Sociology  s1369596@sms.ed.ac.uk
No Photo Natalie Forster  s1053508@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Gilberto Galeazzi ethnography,organizations and institutions,Ritual,authority,culture,Qualitative Research Methods,Sociology of Sport,Identity,Power (domination,legitimacy),time,subculture  g.galeazzi@sms.ed.ac.uk
Mary Hanlon Work & Labour,Sociology of Fashion,Global Value Chains,Consumption,Fashion Theory,Consumer-based Activism,Education,Online Learning,Sustainability,Global Apparel Production,Creative Commons & Open Source,Food,Digital Narratives,Bangladesh  M.F.Hanlon@sms.ed.ac.uk
Jillian Hart methodological innovations,virtual/online methods,Networking and Mapping,Biographical narrative,Research methods,Qualitative Research Methods,Research Ethics,reflexivity in research  Jillian.hart@ed.ac.uk
Arjen van der Heide Social Studies of Finance,Economic Sociology,Insurance markets,Science and technology studies,Financial regulation,Sociology of Quantification,Political Economy,Life Insurance,Sociology of Knowledge  a.vanderheide@ed.ac.uk
Justin Chun-ting Ho Nationalism and National Identity,Hong Kong,China,Social media,text and data analytics,Computational Social Science,Discourse Analysis  Justin.Ho@ed.ac.uk
Yifei Hou Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Family Demography,Health policy,Kinship  Y.Hou-12@sms.ed.ac.uk
Rhys Howell Sustainability,Social Impact Assessment,Marine planning,Community Development,Community energy,Marine energy,Social responses,Renewable energy,Participation  rhys.howell@ed.ac.uk
No Photo Katie Ion Qualitative Research Methods,Protest,Protest policing,Surveillance,ethnography,Social movements,Political Sociology,drug policy,intoxication,social change  k.m.ion@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lisa Kalayji sociology of emotions,social movements,feminisms and feminist theory,Social theory,documentary research methods,death  L.Kalayji@sms.ed.ac.uk
Martina Karels Public Memory and Remembrance,Performance,Space,Visual Sociology,Politics of Memory,Qualitative Research Methods,Collaborative Methods,Participatory Methods  M.H.Karels@sms.ed.ac.uk
Julius Kob Social Studies of Finance,Science and technology studies,Historical sociology,Economic Sociology,ethnography,Reinsurance markets,Insurance Linked Securities (ILS) markets,Catastrophe Modelling,Risk Studies,Financial Markets,Sociology of Knowledge,infrastructure,epistemologies,Uncertainty,Climate change,Experimentation,Non-knowledge,Simulations  +49 (0) 172 96 33433
J.J.Kob@ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Scott Drug Policy,Security Cooperation,The war on drugs,Politics of drugs and trafficking,Transnational Governance,Central Asia,Globalisation,Regionalism,Balance of power  s1468651@ed.ac.uk
Maggie Laidlaw Feminism,Participation,creative research methods,poetry,Innovative Research Methods,work and labour,Bodies,participatory research,co-production,volunteering,Women's livelihoods,Community Belonging,Community Development,co-production and collaboration,time and temporality,Social Inequalities in Leisure and Time-Use,Family relationship  +44(0)7480715571
Maggie.Laidlaw@ed.ac.uk
Ana Victoria Gaxiola Lazcano Historical sociology,Social movements,State building,Social network analysis,Political Sociology,Latin America,Corporatism,labour movements  s1673765@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sara Stewart - Lindores Sectarianism,Intersectionality,Sociology of the family and kinship,Equalities,Community Education,Inter-generational Research,feminist sociology,narrative & biographical methodologies,gender and religion,Whiteness  +447901940247
sara.d.stewart@ed.ac.uk
Cristian Luguzan Political Sociology,social movements,civil society,political ideology,communication technologies,social media  s1666115@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alexandra Macht Qualitative Research Methods,Adult-child relations/interactions,Sociology of emotion,Gender and parenting,Power,Masculinities,fathers and fatherhood,Identity and class culture  +44 (0)7570159672
amacht@exseed.ed.ac.uk
Chloe MacLean gender equality,Sociology of Sport,Senses,Martial arts/ Combat Sports,Sensory Ethnography,Qualitative Research Methods,embodiment,gender,relationships  S0822532@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily Mann Gender & policing;,Gender & Policing,Police Culture,Criminology,Criminal Justice,Scottish Criminal Justice System,Police,Police Scotland,Ethnography,Feminist Research,Sociology of Gender,Intersectionality,Gender and Development,Feminist Criminology  +44(0)7742629158
Emily.Mann@ed.ac.uk
Taylor McConnell Memory abuse,Collective memory,Memory politics,Yugoslavia,Bosnia and Herzegovina,Serbia,Croatia,National identity,Identity construction,Transitional justice,Political reform,State building,Othering,Violence,Reconciliation,Education,Socialisation processes  T.A.McConnell@sms.ed.ac.uk
Derek Morris Memory,identity,Ideology,Narrative Inquiry,Storytelling and ethnography,discourse analysis,life-writing,Auto/Biography,Documents of Life,Iraq and the Middle East,Masculinities,Identity construction,Identity and Alterity,Collective memory,Storytelling and narrative,Myth and storytelling,militaries,Critical ethnography  derekwesleymorris@ed.ac.uk
Órla Meadhbh Murray Institutional Ethnography,Sociology of Knowledge,Feminist Research,Activism,Text,Identity,Theatre & Performance,Intersectionality,Work,Higher education,Qualitative Research Methods  s0807012@sms.ed.ac.uk
Maureen Neckelmann Social capital,Civic engagement,Sociology of Religion,Secularisation,Religious Identity,Latin American Culture and Society  S1255730@sms.ed.ac.uk
Plamena Panayotova History of science,history of social science,history of statistics,methodology in the social sciences,Quantitative Methods in Social Research,Education  s1007946@sms.ed.ac.uk
Anna Ross Social Policy,Criminal Justice,Sociology of Drugs,Participatory Methods,Drug Policy  anna.ross@ed.ac.uk
Sarah M. E. Ruggins Financial Innovation,financial regulation,exchange traded funds,econometrics and econometric theory,performativity,derivative instruments,Financial Markets,Social Studies of Finance  +44 (0)7541 543776
s.ruggins@sms.ed.ac.uk
Nathalia Salamanca-Sarmiento Memory,identity,Narrative Inquiry,Human rights,Childhood and Youth Studies,reconciliation and dealing with the past,Contesting childhood  n.salamanca@sms.ed.ac.uk
Shubhi Sharma Marx,Foucault,Governmentality,Dispossession,Adivasis,India,REDD+,Making of Environmental Subjects  Shubhi.Sharma@ed.ac.uk
Haitao Shi Criminal Justice Policy,Drug Policy in China,Police Culture,Drugs and Crime,Qualitative Research Methods,Discourse Analysis  Haitao.Shi@ed.ac.uk
Esje Stapleton Philosophy of Mind,Cyborgs,the structure/agency problem,Zombies,Queer Theory,Socially Extended Mind Hypothesis  http://edinburgh.academia.edu/SJStapleton
s.j.stapleton-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Sarah Stopforth Sociology of Education,Social Stratification,Cultural Capital,Quantitative Analysis  sarah.stopforth@ed.ac.uk
Dora Jandric Ageing,Gender,Sexuality,Qualitative Research Methods,imagined futures  +447521207427
s1564114@sms.ed.ac.uk
Alva Katharina Traebert Gender and Sexuality,Intersectionality,Feminism,Queer Theory,Narrative Inquiry,Human rights  a.k.traebert@sms.ed.ac.uk
Ben Twist Climate change,Cultural Sociology,Sustainability,Environment,Environmental Sociology,Environmental and Social Change,complexity theory,social practice theory  +44 (0)131 529 7909
ben.twist@creativecarbonscotland.com
Amanda Vettini Research methodology,Higher Education,Innovative Research Methods,Children and Families,Relationship breakdown and divorce,Research Methods Training  s1144892@sms.ed.ac.uk
Llibert Mendez de Vigo sociology of food,Memory,identity,Immigration,Food and Identity,Diaspora and transnationalism  Llibert.Mendez.De.Vigo@ed.ac.uk
Zhen Wei Political sociology,Historical sociology,Social theory,Sociology of the body,China,Labour and labour movements  +44 (0)7421233421
s1515888@sms.ed.ac.uk
Emily Wilkinson Veganism,Meat Eating,Happy Meat,Feminism,Intersectionality,Critical Animal Studies,Food Studies,Food  s0801998@sms.ed.ac.uk
Lauren Wilks domestic labour,care,gender,class,social inequality,migration,mobility,commuting,work and labour,changing/emerging cultures of work,ethnography,qualitative methods,family and personal relationships,feminist research,South Asia  L.Wilks @ sms.ed.ac.uk
Mengyao Yuan Social media,Political identities and citizenship  M.Yuan-2@sms.ed.ac.uk
Andreas Zaunseder Historical sociology,political theory,Social theory,public engagement,Economic Sociology,Political Sociology,Critical Theory  andreas.zaunseder@ed.ac.uk; r02az16@abdn.ac.uk
Luca Zazzi Social Theory,Theoretical Methods,Philosophy,Ontology,Modernity,Media and Communications,Aesthetics  Luca.Zazzi@ed.ac.uk
Dominik Zelinsky Social theory,Cultural Sociology,Communism,Central Eastern Europe,Dissent,Semiotics,Literary Theory,Comparative/Historical Sociology,Hermeneutics,Historical sociology,Sociology of Knowledge,Sociology of Religion,Sociology of Art  Dominik.Zelinsky@ed.ac.uk